Race Weekend!

It’s time to take a break from cancer and update you on our awesome NASCAR race weekend!

On Friday night Seth and I flew to Greensboro, NC. The flight was uneventful and plane definitely reusable. (That’s how I judge a good landing!) From there we rented a car and drove ten minutes to our hotel.

The DoubleTree by Hilton was very nice and clean. After plane tickets were purchased, my mom made some calls to hotels where I have a member number, explained why I was coming to the area, and tried to get the lowest rate. Her efforts paid off! The DoubleTree manager was very nice, and with the discount, we essentially got three nights for the price of two. Another bonus? Free hot breakfast each morning.

Saturday morning we drove approximately one hour north to the Martinsville Speedway in Martinsville, VA. Our first stop was the NASCAR credentials trailer. My ticket donor said there would be pit passes waiting for us. We filled out the disclaimer form and waited in line. But once we got to the front they couldn’t find us on “the list.”

“That’s okay,” I said to Seth, trying to hide my disappointment. “We’re still here and have great seats!”

The woman at the table pointed to a closed door which led to a small, separate room. “They have other packets. I don’t know if they can help you or not.”

So we squeezed our way into the tinier room and waited for one of the two women to be available. We gave our names, and she scanned her list. She was flipping pages quickly when Seth said, “Wait! That’s us!” A packet was passed from one woman to the other, and two magic pieces of paper emerged. They said “HOT.” We printed and signed our names on a form already containing others. They trashed our disclaimer forms.

I was barely able to get back to the car and tell Seth, “close your door, close your door” before going “SQEEEEEEEEEE!!”

A “hot” pit pass gives you carte blanche to be INSIDE the track before, during, and after the race, including qualifying and practice. We were there for all the events both Saturday and Sunday. One of my favorite highlights was attending the pre-race driver’s meeting. While there was no room under the tent, we were all the way up front and just a few feet from the drivers, crew chiefs, and teams.

The races themselves (a lesser series on Saturday and the main event on Sunday) were great. The Sunday race was my favorite that I’ve ever attended: it had plenty of action, our seats were great, and the track is so short, there is always action right in front of you. (You don’t wait or watch with binoculars while the cars drive around a 2+ mile track.)

Seth and I took many pictures and a few small videos; I’ll share some on Facebook when I’m up to it.

Thank you for making this trip possible. Your donations via my YouCaring site paid for the airplane tickets, rental car, and hotel. And guess what? I can cross it off of my Frog List!

20131030-060852.jpg

6 responses to “Race Weekend!

  • stage5cancerblog

    I am so thrilled for you guys! here’s to the frog!

  • Nora DePalma

    Yay!!! I’m so glad you got the pit passes. My husband and stepson got those once and had a blast. And glad you had some FUN!

  • Claire Philpott

    I live in Roanoke Va , just down the road. Blad you had a great time! Can you tell me how thix organization works? I have my bucket list. Lol ♥
    Claire

  • costellocnm

    So glad you went & had a great time ! i hope you are feeling better . Have a wonderful day ! ❤ Maureen

  • Tori Tomalia

    That sounds awesome! I’m so glad you guys got to have such a great trip.

  • Sabina

    Oh how I wish we could meet face-to-face so you could try and explain to me what you see (or feel?) in NASCAR racing. Every year I keep hoping my own capital city of Melbourne will give the Formula One Grand Prix back to Adelaide – the city we stole it from in 1996 which is situated about 900 kilometres east. Which is just about the right distance so I could no longer hear the engines! I had no idea you were a “rev head”, Jessica. That’s Aussie slang for a motorsport enthusiast. It’s not a really derogatory term. It is often used affectionately between fans. Oh, well…. the world would be pretty dull if we all liked the same things. In my younger, dating days, I met a guy once who was so like me and shared so many of my interests and opinions that the conversation started to feel very dull. Towards the end of an evening of constantly saying “oh yeah, me too!”, we were both bored to snores and never saw each other again.

    I’m so happy you and Seth had such a great time. Your description of telling Seth to shut the car door so you could let out your less-than-lady-like SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEE was just too cute! (heh heh)

    Well done to your mom for doing the ring around to find you such an excellent accommodation deal with the Double Tree by Hilton. It looks real nice in the photos although I found the height of the beds quite amusing. If you fell out of one of those beds, you would have one monster of a bruise. Perhaps they are trying to discourage too vigorous nightime games? {heh heh} I love staying in hotels and particularly enjoy a leisurely hot breakfast. There’s something so wonderfully self-indulgent about not having to clean up after yourself. No, I am not a slob. I keep my enviroment clean and tidy. I just enjoy being “looked after” because it is a rare occurence for me. I could happily live permanently in a well run and maintained hotel with some “personality”, provided I could keep a pet or two in my suite.

    Good luck with achieving/receiving another item on your Frog List.

Leave a Reply

