To Make the Move

Some of my biggest supporters recently started a fundraising page for me via YouCaring.com. To kick it off, we are using my Frog List: Things to do before I croak!

My number one priority and immediate need is to move my mom closer to me.  It’s critical on many levels.

Because it’s a very broad task, the goal of this post is to outline what needs to happen to make it a reality.

Part A: Sell our existing farm property.

This 15+ acre farmette is located in Tyler County, West Virginia, just two hours south of Pittsburgh International Airport.

  • Ideally, we sell this ASAP and avoid all the stress of carrying two mortgages until it sells.
  • This could be purchased by a traditional buyer.
  • But thinking “outside of the box,” it could also be purchased by a broker who would be willing to carry it until it sells. Can you help to connect me with someone in this industry?

Part B: Find a new property.

In order to make this move happen, we must make sacrifices.  This means paring down our farm and keeping only the animals we can’t bear to part with.  The property we buy needs a minimum of:

  • A modest house. We can drywall, floor, and paint, but it must be structurally sound with good plumbing and electrical.
  • 3+ clear acres.
  • Within a 2 hour drive of the Philadelphia International Airport. (I live close, and it’s a good landmark.)
  • Zoning allows horses.

Part C: Buying, Building, and Moving.

  • If we find a property that does not have existing accommodations for animals, we will buy the property and build a simple pole building and put up fencing.  Our budget for this scenario is around $100,000 +/-.
  • If we find a property already setup for horses, our budget is around $120,000 +/-.
  • This budget makes finding a property within two hours of Philadelphia very, very difficult.

So how can money help?

  • Real Estate Investors: Buying and reselling the property in West Virginia would allow some additional money towards buying a new property AND alleviate a world full of stress that will come along with carrying two mortgages. We are flexible on the asking price!
  • Philadelphia-Area Animal Lovers: Do you want a place to have your horses, etc. as well as a good property investment? Buy a small farm with caretaker’s quarters. We would pay modest rent and take care of your animals and the property.
  • Angel Investors / Donors: Amassing an extra $20,000, $50,000, etc. makes it much easier to find a property that meets our needs and get my mom closer ASAP.  Or, purchase a Philadelphia-area property which will only increase in value.  We don’t require any ownership in a property, and the full asset can be yours.
  • Every Dollar Helps! Spread the Word! Even smaller donations of $5 or $10 will add up if you can help me spread the word! Visit the fundraiser page and share via Facebook, Twitter, and more!

Thank you for your love and support.  No amount of money could ever buy that, and I realize I am very fortunate to have it.

7 responses to “To Make the Move

  • maddiesplace

    I am in real estate maketing. I can help you market this property. No charge.

  • Jeanne

    Stumbled across your blog. I was diagnosed with stage 1a lung cancer by chance during a ct scan of my neck. My upper right lobe was surgically removed and that was the extent of my treatment. I was shocked and devastated to learn it but also grateful to find it at such an early stage. I have researched lung cancer, many times. For both family and friends who had previously been diagnosed and now for me. It is such a scary disease considering the statistics. I hope and pray for a cure or any breakthrough treatment that would allow many more people to survive. I read your blog from beginning to your last post and am so impressed with not only your writing which is top notch but the person you are. Never give up hope. Always pray for a miracle healing. Take one day at a time. I want you to know that you have touched my life with your words. I went into St. Patrick’s Cathedral yesterday and said a prayer for you. I will keep you in my prayers Jessica.

  • Sabina

    I’m so glad your good friends have started a fundraiser page for you, giving the rest of us another way of supporting you. I pray that your mom will be able to move closer to you real soon.

  • Joni Sepiol

    Jessica: I am touched br your bravery and the attitude with which you are exhibiting through your ordeal! You are an exceptional young woman. I will continue to keep you in my prayers as you work towards dwindling away at your “frog” list. My love to you and Seth both. Joni

Leave a Reply

