A Matched Pair

I think, in most partnerships, there is one person who is smarter than the other.

I don’t mean the person with the most redeeming qualities; hopefully most relationships are relatively balanced in that respect. But if you challenged each with a combination of traditional knowledge and ‘street smart’ tasks, who would fare better?

Sometimes it’s easy to determine which of the pair holds the bigger bag of IQ points. Others aren’t so transparent; you only know which way the scale tips after befriending the couple.

But what I’ve realized is that in my relationship with Seth, I don’t know who is smarter. And neither does he.

Of course, I think Seth is many other things “more” than I am. He’s nicer than I. He’s more thoughtful than I. He’s funnier than I. These qualities stand out because I admire, am humbled by, and rely upon them.

Sometimes we take on certain roles, though not always in the same vein. Who would have thought that I would negotiate the price when we bought a new vehicle? And who would guess that he is better at giving the bunnies medicine when needed? But it all evens out, every time.

I am a complete, balanced, and better person with Seth. He challenges me when I’m feeling sharp then comforts me when I’m having a foggy day. He will affectionately elbow me to play around or hold me when I feel so sick.

For better or worse – and those days seem endless right now – I can be myself. He will love and respect me just for that.

Some people say that Seth seems like the perfect man. I only know he is perfect for me.

9 responses to “A Matched Pair

  • Nate

    As Blake Shelton sings which like Seth was mine, ” the best thing you ever lucked in to,
    That’s easy girl, mine would be you”

  • Sung

    beautifully written 🙂

  • Michelle

    Beautiful Jessica.

  • Juli Vlad

    Such a beautiful love story.

  • Nikki

    Jessica, you captivated me by the way you wrote your story.

    Despite two marriages, I can honestly say I’ve never experienced true love.

    That you and Seth have found it, despite everything, is a gift from above.

    I’m so happy for you both on your engagement. It brings me hope to know true love does exist:-) xo

  • Heather

    love love love this post!! So happy that you are happy- it’s a beautiful thing when one finds the ‘right’ partner in life and you have certainly found yours!

  • Sjoukje

    What a wonderful post!! Im happy for you and Seth that you have this special bond. Much love!!! xx

  • Sabina

    It gives me great pleasure to hear how much you admire and respect your “soul mate”. Like Nikki, I also have never experienced being truly loved. You and Seth have the kind of relationship that most people hope for, but very few get. From your blog, I feel that the foundations of your relationship are sunk into a solid bedrock of real friendship which cannot be shaken or corroded by such things as changes in physical appearance, material circumstances or mood swings. The feelings you express in the third last paragraph just slay me. What a truly extraordinary man Seth must be to be able to make you feel that way. But then you know that already. May your feelings for each only deepen with time. You don’t need my blessing. You have each other. You don’t need anything else.

  • Jack

    “Love doesn’t make the world go ’round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile.” –Franklin P. Jones

Leave a Reply

