Cancerversary

One year ago I was diagnosed with lung cancer.  It was certainly one of my most life-defining moments – right up there with the day I was born.

I originally hoped to do something really fun – like a mini vacation – to celebrate the day.  But as time neared and cancer progressed, my schedule was held hostage by doctor’s visits and trial screening.

I’ve been surprised at how many people don’t seem to understand the importance of this day.  Perhaps to them it is mundane; after all, it’s not like I was declared cancer-free on this date.

Others think it is macabre to celebrate the day I learned of such a horrible illness.  But everyone I’ve met who is still in treatment understands.

It’s about celebrating the fact that I made it a year – hopefully the first of many – with this monkey on my back.  It’s about giving cancer the middle finger and summoning the strength to fight another year.

I’ve joined a very small group of people who have lived at least one year with stage IV lung cancer, and I’m proud that I’ve made it this far.  Here’s to many more cancerversaries!

21 responses to “Cancerversary

Leave a Reply

