Fly Away

My airport routine has changed a lot since diagnosis. Lung cancer is like heavy, oversized baggage you can’t check.

I need help to get through security, to the gate, down the ramp, up the ramp, and to the rental car counter or passenger pick-up.

People aren’t sure of me… After all, I don’t wear a “cancer on board” t-shirt. I’m young, I still have some hair, my leg isn’t in a cast; I suppose I look like anyone else. They would never guess how sick I really am.

Back at the airport, the wheelchair assistance and electric carts get me from point A to B. But if I need to use the ladies’ room or get something to drink, I must fend for myself. Luckily I can often impose on a nearby stranger with light baggage to help me with one of those chores. (Again, I get the “Are your legs broken?” look.)

I have never minded airports. I certainly saw plenty of them while traveling for work. And I appreciate the order, the process, the consistency.

But now they are just another reminder of how life has changed. It’s a real pain in the ass, carrying this baggage everywhere I go.

3 responses to “Fly Away

  • Linda

    Jessica, Hang in there. You are incredibly strong. I’ve never met you, but I do feel like I know you. We all just take it moment by moment. No one knows what the next moment will bring. Keep your sense of humor, and your outlook. I can imagine how heavy this baggage is. But somehow, I know you’ll be able to carry it a long long time. Expect miracles. They will be there.

  • kimmywink

    I get it…but differently since my mobility is not as impacted by my cancer. I’d love to check the baggage and accidentally forget to pick it up!

    Thanks for the link to my blog post. I’m still willing to send stickers out to anyone who wants them. Now T-shirts…that could be do-able…

    • Jessica

      Yes! You should design them via Zazzle and make a couple bucks for each one you sell. I’ve done it before, and it’s really easy.

      Let me know if you do!

Leave a Reply

