The Joy of Christmas

On Sunday QVC had an all-day gift/decor/food event to remind us that Christmas is only three months away.  As you may or may not know, I’m a huge QVC fan; so this was a fun day where they didn’t sell boring jewelry or clothing.

But this post isn’t to share with you my affinity for retail television.  Let’s save that for another day.  Instead, I’d like to tell you how excited I am for the upcoming holiday season.

I was diagnosed with cancer on November 14, 2011.  And in the weeks that followed there were times, mostly late at night, I quietly shed tears wondering if that Christmas would be my last.  But, even with that concern, I had a great holiday.

Now that it looks like I’ll have no problem staying around for Christmas 2012, I’m getting very excited to start the holiday season.  Bring on Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and snow.  I want it all!

And I acknowledge that we’re an odd pair, Christmas and I.  I’m not a religious person.  But to me, it is a yearly representation of love and kindness.  I also adore sparkly things and shining lights, so American Christmas and I are indeed a match!

The best part, though, is giving to others.  There is nothing better than giving the perfect gift to a friend or relative.  I know it makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside!

Of course we give to strangers too.  We donate thousands of toys to less privileged children and drop pocket change – or gold coins – into red kettles.  We donate pounds of canned goods so our neighbors won’t go hungry, and some of us buy dog food too, so they can keep their beloved pets.

Christmas is a yearly reminder to be a decent human being and love the ones you care for.  Whether you believe in one, many, or no gods, you must love this about Christmas.  That… and the lights, of course.  🙂

4 responses to “The Joy of Christmas

  • kimmywink

    I’m happy for you that you’ve made it to another holiday season. I’ve got no doubt in my mind that you are going to make it memorable and perfect.

    I too love the glitz and glam of Christmas!

  • patrick

    Halloween through Christmas is my favorite time of year and of course that damn spot on my lung would appear on an x-ray just days before Christmas 2011 sooo this entry hit home. I admit I am somewhat savoring more than usual the appearance of the holidays in the stores, malls, etc.

  • Sjoukje

    Do you decorate your house for Halloween too? It’s not big here, but it seems to be around a little bit more each year! This year Im going to try and enjoy Christmas. I do like the sparkly part of it……..Hope you’ll have a pawsome holiday season Jessica!
    xxx

    • Jessica

      Hi Sjoukje! No, I don’t decorate for Halloween. I probably would if I had a place to store the decorations the other 11 months out of the year!

      My one outside Christmas decoration is a light-up pink pig with a red bow around his neck. 🙂

Leave a Reply

