I Feel Free

Good news: I didn’t get treatment today.  This means I’ll be 100% for my upcoming adventures.  I don’t have to think about side effects for an entire week!

My doctor believes I had a type of allergic reaction to Gemzar, and that’s what caused the leg pain and fevers.  This drug is well tolerated by 99% of the people who receive it; count on me to be the exception.  To combat the reaction I will receive a higher dose of the IV steroid (decadron) in my pre-meds prior to my next treatment.

My new chemo plan is:

  • August 13, 20, 27
  • September 10, 17, 24
  • October 8, 15, 22

Ugh, that’s a daunting schedule.  If my blood counts drop too far, I’ll have to skip a treatment, and that could throw off the calendar above.  But if all goes well, and I don’t get too symptomatic again, I should get all those treatments prior to my next PET scan.  If that scan shows improvement, I suppose I’ll keep going with the weekly treatments.  If not, then on to plan D!

3 responses to “I Feel Free

  • Linda Forem

    Your news is great and your outlook on life inspires me. Enjoy this break!

  • Sjoukje

    Jessica, think of your upcoming plans this week! I hope you will enjoy them a lot! Also hope there will be no need for a plan D! Plan C should do the trick!

    Love and nosebonks from us!
    xxx

  • Mary Ruggiero

    Such good news. Glad you are feeling better. You sound terrifically positive–or maybe that’s positively terrific?

Leave a Reply

