El Lumpo

For the past three days, I’ve been carrying around a painful, hard lump on the side of my waist.  It’s a hematoma, no doubt caused by repeated trauma in the area.  (This is one place I inject myself each day.)  I first noticed it on Sunday, and since then, it has grown to a whopping 1.5″ high x 5″ long.

A hematoma is a collection of blood within the tissue.  It’s different from a bruise, where blood collects in a very thin layer under the skin.  No, this is a big lump, and it’s painful to touch or when I move in certain ways.  It’s also conveniently located where I wear the waist of my pants.

This is a very common thing.  People usually get them after trauma, like falling down stairs, for example.  And yet, I’m being a real wimp about it.  I spoke with my doctor’s office yesterday.  They felt as long as I didn’t have a fever, it could wait until my Friday appointment/chemo.  Until then, I will ice it, whine a lot, and take a pill!

2 responses to “El Lumpo

  • Sjoukje

    Sounds painful indeed! You whine away hun!!! Good luck for Friday’s appointment.

    Thinking of you
    love and nosebonks from the Netherlands
    xxx

  • Just the Facts « stage iv

    […] wasn’t part of the scan, but I thought you might want an update on our favorite hematoma, El Lumpo.  After a course of antibiotics, El Lumpo shrunk to one half its size.  It is no longer painful, […]

Leave a Reply

