Hopping for Hope

Saturday evening was fantastic.

Approximately 130 of my closest friends were in Conshohocken, PA last weekend for my benefit, “Hop for Hope.”  Three days later, I’m still not sure if I’ve digested those three hours.  I’ll break it down just as it sits inside my brain:

  • Guests: We had a great turnout.  Start with a large helping of  Citi and ARAMARK friends.  Add in my family (mom, brother, aunt, uncle, cousin), a sprinkle of bunny friends, and a dash of other important people.  Stir for 5 minutes and serve!
  • Coordination: The event was absolutely beautiful.  The room was decorated in red and white, the DJ was great, and everything went off without a hitch.  I can only imagine how much went into the planning.  A gigantic ‘Thanks!’ to the “We Heart Rice Fan Club” for all the time, energy, and love you put into this.
  • Silent Auction: Perhaps the most shocking part of the event was the massive silent auction.  The event organizers have been pounding the pavement and writing letters for weeks.  In the end there were more than 50 silent auction items – from restaurant gift cards to a gourmet wine basket.  From a wardrobe consulting service to karate lessons!

By the end of the night, we had collected more than $5,000 from the silent auction, 50/50 drawing, bracelet sales, and other donations!  This was in addition to the more than $10,000 raised prior to the event.  (I haven’t calculated an official total yet.)

One of the coolest things, though, is a commemorative painting donated by local artist Jacqui Gosselin.  As each person entered, they placed their thumbprint next to the big bunny.  I’ve hung this giant piece of art above my dining room table where I can appreciate it – and all the people who have done so much – every single day.

One response to “Hopping for Hope

  • Sjoukje

    Jessica Im so happy this was a great success!! You deserve it sweetie!!! And what a gorgeous painting! If only I lived closer, I would so have been there!!!
    xx

Leave a Reply

