No Place To Go-o-oh

Last night I complained about my challenges with sleep.  Many nights I really want to sleep and can’t.  But sometimes, I’ve slept earlier in the evening, and I’m quite awake and want to be productive at 3am.

So what does one do in the wee hours of the morning?  Well, ten years ago, I didn’t have a problem.  I could go grocery shopping, hit Wal-Mart, even Home Depot 24 hours a day.  But with an eye towards cost savings, almost all retailers have eliminated their round-the-clock availability.

And it vexes me.

I understand that I can shop online for almost anything I need.  I could place my grocery order now and pick it up later today.  But I want things NOW – including a new pair of jeans (Wal-Mart) and a glazier’s tool (Home Depot).  I’ve always said that patience is a virtue, but it’s not one of mine!

Sure there are other things I could do at 3am.  I could wash laundry (in progress), unload the dishwasher, sort the mail, and watch TV.  But shopping at night is almost magical.  The stores are quiet, the aisles are empty.  It’s like you’re the president, and the store was cleared out just for you!

Of course, I could try to get more sleep.  🙂

3 responses to “No Place To Go-o-oh

  • Mike

    From one late night, or early morning, non-sleeper to another…I recommend Words with Friends random opponents.

  • Sjoukje

    oh wow!! Grocery shopping at 3am? That would be something!! We don’t get that in the Netherlands. Shops close at 8pm…..maybe 1 or 2 “night” shops….but even they close at midnight. When Im in London or Spain it already amazes me when I can still shop at 10pm LOL!

    How much timedifference is there between us? Arent there people online to chat with or play games with in Europe?

    xx Sjoukje

Leave a Reply

