And… We’re Back

It’s been nearly a week since my last post, so I wanted to update you on my status.

I have been dealing with some mystery abdominal pain and nausea occurring right after I begin eating.  I first noticed symptoms when I was at the farm two weeks ago, and it really came to a head this past Saturday (February 25).   After 24 hours of trying every possible over-the-counter remedy, the pain was worsening, and I needed to be seen.

I went to the hospital on Sunday and was admitted.

MRI… X-rays… CT scan (with the awful barium contrast drink)…  Blood and urine tests and cultures…  I didn’t keep down any food on Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday.  And it wasn’t necessarily due to nausea.  My body just had to expel the food, usually 5 hours after eating.  I had a constant fever around 100 degrees.  After ruling out everything else, the diagnosis?  Xalkori.

My amazing cancer medication comes with some known (and, no doubt, unknown) side effects.  Approximately 15% of patients have reported abdominal problems.

My last dose of Xalkori was Wednesday morning.  Seth cooked and delivered some Oodles of Noodles for dinner on Wednesday night, and I kept them down.  I chose them because they wouldn’t hurt going down or coming up, and they weren’t dry like bread or crackers.  Tuesday night I nearly aspired a roll I ate 5 hours earlier.

Thursday I awoke with no fever.  It was the first time in days.  I ate very selectively, and everything stayed down.

Friday morning I started to feel more human.  I had kept food down for more than 24 hours, my fever was officially gone, and I was ready to go home.  Seth picked me up around 1 pm.  There’s no place like home!

And then there was Saturday.  I feel rather bad today, and I’ve been second-guessing all day whether or not I was discharged too early.

As far as my treatment, the plan is to follow Pfizer’s guideline for this type of adverse event.  Stop treatment until I’ve recovered.  Then restart at a lower dose: 200mg twice a day (versus the original 250mg).  Hopefully the lower dose will minimize the side effects but still attack the cancer.

That’s all for now.  Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day.  Please accept this as my excuse not only for the intermittent blogging, but also for being delinquent on emails and generally grumpy!

2 responses to “And… We’re Back

  • Sjoukje

    Hi sweetie, dont apologize!

    Concentrate on getting back on your feet first, the rest is not important. Im glad to read that you’re back home again. No place like home, right?

    We’re thinking of you!
    xxx

  • HP

    Girl- you’re entitled to be grumpy, delinquent and anything else you want to be! Hang in there and my fingers are crossed that the lower dosage brings you some relief while still attempting to kick that cancer’s ASS!

    -HP

Leave a Reply

