Like a Racehorse

My newest medication is Lasix (furosemide).  It is commonly known as a ‘water pill’ because it rids your body of excess fluid and related swelling.  Technically, it prevents the body from absorbing too much salt and therefore is sometimes used for other purposes (e.g. to control high blood pressure).

My doctor prescribed Lasix to combat fluid retention which is being caused by the prednisone.  He believes it is making it even more difficult for me to breathe.

It sounds harmless, doesn’t it?  “Water pill.”  Like it should be made of water; or as innocent as water.  But it sucks.  In the morning (after I take it), I feel a little disoriented (not dizzy, but ‘off’) and very weak.  By evening, the muscles in my back are aching, and my heart is pounding.

I should adjust to it.  In fact, I think the side effects today (day 2) were better than yesterday.  It’s also hard to know what might be related to the concurrent decrease in prednisone (60mg to 40mg again).  Even so, my body is angry, and I blame Lasix!  (Oh yeah, and cancer.)

Here are some fun facts:

  • Furosemide was FDA approved in 1966.
  • There are dozens of brand names for furosemide, but Sanofi-Adventis’ brand is the most well-known.
  • The name Lasix was derived from “lasts six hours” – the anticipated duration of each dose.
  • Everyone thinks I’m saying “Lasik.”  And prior to yesterday, I didn’t notice how many people mispronounce “Lasik.”
4 responses to “Like a Racehorse

Leave a Reply

