Here’s the Plan

Here is my high-level treatment plan.

1) Xalkori (crizotinib)

  • This is a ‘targeted therapy‘ that is designed to attack only the cancerous cells.  I’m able to try this because my cancer tested ALK+.
  • My oncologist feels there is a 70% chance that I will respond to this treatment.  YAY!
  • I must respond well enough (shrinking the cancer) and tolerate the side effects for this to be considered successful.
  • We will try this for 4 weeks before determining whether or not it has been successful.
  • If it is successful (paws crossed), I will take this pill as long as it continues to be effective in controlling  my cancer.  This could be 3 years, for example.

2) Chemotherapy

  • If Xalkori does not control my cancer or I cannot tolerate the side effects, I will have chemotherapy (actual drugs to be determined).
  • We have not discussed this in detail because there is a very good chance option 1 will work.
  • My oncologist feels there is a 20% chance that chemotherapy would provide enough control.

3) Clinical Trials

  • If chemotherapy does not control my cancer, I would then be eligible for a new clinical trial already in progress for ALK+ lung cancer.
  • The good news is that science will continue to develop and refine these treatments, and there are many things for me to try in the foreseeable future.
One response to “Here’s the Plan

Leave a Reply

